ClassNK Project Awards 2017

The ClassNK awards for the best BTech Projects were awarded in a ceremony held at the Seminar Hall of Dept of Ship Technology, CUSAT on the 17th of August 2017. The function began at 11.30am and the Chief Guest was Dr. Abdul Rahim, Regional Manager, South Asia, Class NK. The other dignitaries on dais were Dr. Mariamma Chacko, the Head of the Department, Dr. C.B. Sudheer, Assistant Professor and Dr. Manoj T. Isaac, Assistant Professor. Anjali Manoharan (sem 7) welcomed the guests to the ceremony.

The programme started with the prayer song by Vishnu Prakash (sem 5) followed by welcome address by Dr. C.B. Sudheer who talked about the handy relationship of Class NK with the Department and welcomed the dignitaries to the ceremony. The presidential address was given by Dr. Mariamma Chacko who discussed about the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between CUSAT and ClassNK for the ClassNK best project awards. She thanked Dr. Dileep, Dr. K.P. Narayanan and Dr. K. Sivaprasad for successful conduction of the programme along with Society of Naval Architecture Students (SNAS) and other faculty members.

The presidential address was followed by synopsis of the projects by Dr. Manoj T Issac. He gave a brief explanation of the six award winning projects done by the students of 36th and 37th batch of NA&SB.This was followed by the distribution of the awards to the winners by Dr. Abdul Rahim. The award for the best project from 36th batch was won by Mr. Gautham Krishna C.G. for Drillship Aurora Galatic. The 2nd best project was by Sub. Lt. Kiran Ramesh for L.C. Amphitrite and the 3rd best project was by Mr. Sangeeth Roshan for LNG Bullet Carrier Scorpion. The award for the best project from 37th batch was won by Mr. R.R. Vishnu for R.V. Vaiga. The 2nd best project was by Mr. Sreenath Subramaniam for FPSO Srothas and the 3rd best project was by Sub. Lt. Rohit S. Nair for EMRV Prasanna. The winners were awarded with certificates and cash prizes worth Rs. 60,000. Mementos were awarded by project guides.

Then Dr. Abdul Rahim addressed the audience, congratulated the award winners and expressed his immense pleasure to be back again in his alma mater and the commended on the efficient conduction of ceremony. His message to the students was to work hard and sincerely.

The prize winners expressed their gratitude and their pleasure in winning the awards. Each one of them thanked their project guides, parents and everyone who supported in the successful completion of the projects. SNAS Secretary Rahul S.G. delivered the vote of thanks and expressed his gratitude to all dignitaries present on dais, award winners, parents, faculty members for the evaluation of projects and finally the students of the Department for the smooth conduction of the ceremony.